Lightened-up egg salad

lightened-up egg salad

Sometimes it’s funny how my meal planning skills work (or don’t…). I can have meals planned out perfectly for every day of the week, but by the time Saturday rolls around there’s NOTHING left in the fridge. I admit that weekend lunches are not my strong suit, mainly because I don’t always feel like breakfast food past noon, yet I’m at the point where I just can’t bear to eat another salad…thank you, weekday work lunches. And there lies the conundrum.

I noticed that more often than not, the hubby’s answer to my question “what did you have for lunch today?” was egg salad…something I’ve never actually made myself. After another Saturday of scrounging around for lunch, I decided to try it and I’m so glad I did! Egg salad is pretty simple, it just requires hard-boiled eggs (the hardest part is peeling them) mixed with mayo (usually) and Greek yogurt in this case. This lightened-up version has half the yolks (aka half the cholesterol) and only 2 Tbsp of mayo! The Greek yogurt lends the perfect amount of tang and creaminess, and thanks to this magical ingredient you’ll never miss the calories and fat! Egg salad is great in a sandwich, or try it over greens for a low-carb lunch.

lightened-up egg saladLightened-up egg salad
Yield: 4 servings | Serving size: 1/4 of recipe
Prep time: 10 mins | Cook time: 10 mins | Total time: 20 mins

Ingredients:
8 eggs
1/2 cup plain nonfat Greek yogurt
2 Tbsp light mayonnaise
1 tsp dill
Ground black pepper/salt to taste

Instructions:
1. Place eggs in a large pot and cover eggs completely with cold water by 1-2 inches.
2. Place pot on high heat until water comes to a rolling boil.
3. Once water reaches a boil, cover and remove from heat. Let pot sit covered for 12 minutes.
4. Carefully drain out water and place eggs into a large bowl filled with cold water. Let cool.
5. Peel eggs by lightly cracking on a hard surface and then rolling until you hear a cracking noise.
6. Slice eggs in half and remove the yolks from 4 of the eggs (8 halves). Discard yolks.
7. Roughly chop eggs and mix with Greek yogurt, mayo, dill and salt/pepper to taste.
8. Serve on a sandwich or in a salad. Keep refrigerated in an air-tight container.

Recipe adapted from: Damn Delicious
Photography: Lighten Up Recipes

6 thoughts on “Lightened-up egg salad

  1. I love egg salad! Thanks for linking to the Creative K Tasty Tuesday party. I’ve pinned your recipe to the Tasty Tuesday board. We hope you’ll come party with us again tomorrow morning.

Leave a Reply

