Lightened-up Confetti Cake

lightened up confetti cake

If there’s one thing in life that I love, it’s cake (and glitter, and the beach, and my hubby…but not in that order). Any kind of cake will do (I don’t discriminate), but there’s just something about digging into a sweet slice of cake and creamy frosting that makes me so happy!

If there’s one thing I don’t love, it’s dieting…aka NOT eating cake. So when I was trying to slim down for my wedding, I needed a way to have my cake and eat it too (literally) without completely de-railing all of my hard work. I had seen “healthier” cake recipes that called for diet soda — cola for brownie mix and clear soda for cake mix. While these work perfectly well, I don’t normally drink soda so I decided to swap it out for something that I always have in my fridge AND has zero added chemicals or additives…good old seltzer water. That’s right, forget about the oil and eggs — I give you permission to completely ignore the back of the cake mix box!
lightened up confetti cake
There are only 2 ingredients and 3 ridiculously easy steps to baking a lightened-up cake, and the recipe can be used for many cake mix flavors:
1. Mix together dry cake mix and seltzer (ignore the directions on the box)
2. Transfer to a baking dish
3. Bake for 30 minutes

That’s IT! The end result is an entire pan full of moist, fluffy cake and each serving is only 140 calories. Swimsuit season has never tasted so great!
I’ve tried this recipe with confetti, white, yellow and lemon cake mixes and I typically ‘frost’ them with lite whipped topping to keep the calorie count down. The cake is fantastic un-frosted as well. I used raspberry flavored seltzer, but I found that it doesn’t impart much raspberry flavor, so any variety of seltzer would work. This recipe also works for cupcakes! Cake + frosting = happiness 🙂

Lightened-up Confetti Cake
Yield: 16 servings|Serving Size = 1/16 of recipe
140 calories|26g carbs|4g fat|1g protein|18g sugar|218mg sodium
Ingredients:
1 box of dry confetti cake mix (or flavor of your choice)

12 ounces seltzer water (any flavor)
*Lite whipped topping — optional for frosting

Instructions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees

Spray a 9×13 baking dish with non-stick baking spray
In a large bowl, mix together dry cake mix and seltzer with a whisk/wooden spoon/hand-held mixer until smooth
Transfer batter into prepared baking dish
Bake for 30-35 minutes until a toothpick inserted comes out clean and cake is springy to the touch
*Let cake cool completely before frosting. Store in an air-tight container in the refrigerator.

Recipe adapted from: Swade Designs
Photography: Lighten Up Recipes
lightened up confetti cake

5 thoughts on “Lightened-up Confetti Cake

  1. Pingback: Crockpot Shredded Salsa Chicken | Lighten Up!

  2. Pingback: Skinny red, white & blue parfait | Lighten Up!

Leave a Reply

