Flourless Chocolate Cake with Strawberries

flourless chocolate cake with strawberries

Fair warning: this post is not the ‘lightest’ of recipes, but because this cake turned out so beautifully I had to write about it! Also, because it’s a holiday, I’ve put my ‘everything in moderation’ theory into play…because really, what’s a holiday without cake?! This cake looked so amazingly fudgy AND it happened to be flourless (aka gluten-free), so I knew I had to try it. I’m so (pat-myself-on-the-back) proud of myself for making a cake that came out as beautiful as it is DELICIOUS! It’s definitely a challenge to find flourless dessert recipes that don’t taste (or look) like cardboard…and this one is a winner!

flourless chocolate cake with strawberries

The cake is densely rich and chocolatey — almost like eating a slice of fudge rather than cake, and there’s no added sugar! The recipe calls for only a handful of ingredients and it was VERY easy to make (no fancy equipment needed). I changed up the original recipe slightly by using margarine (dairy-free) and I topped it with powdered sugar and sliced strawberries. This cake is perfect for Easter and can easily be adapted for Passover — just use kosher-for-Passover chocolate and powdered sugar.  Click the link below for the full recipe and enjoy!
flourless chocolate cake with strawberries

Flourless Chocolate Cake with Strawberries
Click here for the full recipe
My ingredient list:
8 eggs, cold (whole eggs, yolks and whites)
1 lb good quality semisweet chocolate (I used Ghirardelli)
2 sticks of margarine (16 Tbsp)
2 large strawberries, sliced vertically into thin slices
1 Tbsp powdered sugar, lightly dusted onto the cake with a sifter
Note: I baked the cake for about 35 minutes until completely set.

Recipe source: Gimme Some Oven
Photography: Lighten Up Recipes

Leave a Reply

